Central Okanagan School District Board Highlights – Lake Country Calendar


The Central Okanagan School Board recognized the volunteer efforts of two teachers for their organizing efforts at the elementary district track meet.

Dean Sader, a retired teacher from Shannon Lake Elementary, and Jim Bradshaw, now retired, both took on the task of organizing the annual track and field meet which now involves more than 1,200 students, and the Westside Cross Country Challenge.

Board Chair Moyra Baxter acknowledged Bradshaw and Sader’s dedication to helping organize the event for the benefit of the students.

“I don’t have to ask you why you’re doing this, because you’re doing it out of love for your students,” Baxter said.

Bradshaw became the district’s track and field meet director in 2015, and when he retired in 2018, Sader took over as meet director. During their tenure, the track and field competition grew from a one-day to two-day event involving more than 1,200 athletes from 35 districts and five independent schools.

The Westside Cross Country Challenge was started in 2004 by Sader and Bradshaw, organized for Westside schools with a course beginning at Rose Valley Elementary and extending into the hills of Rose Valley Regional Park.

Kevin Kaardal, Superintendent/CEO of Central Okanagan Public Schools, said the result of Bradshaw and Sader’s efforts is the epitome of athletic competition and a celebration of true sportsmanship.

“There’s nothing quite like that experience that students have when they first meet athletics of this magnitude and it’s something that stays with you as a memory for the rest of your life,” said Kaardal.


Michael Hagen, a science teacher at Mount Boucherie Secondary School, was also honored for winning the Gordon Gore Award for Excellence in Science Teaching from the BC Association of Physics Teachers.

One of Hagen’s colleagues said in an email to Capital News: “Michael is an incredible teacher whose passion for science is contagious and it would be wonderful if you could take some time to shine a light on a teacher. wonderful in our community.”

Hagen has been applauded by administrators for imparting this passion for science to his students and inspiring his colleagues.

The award criteria require applicants to incorporate practical science activities and demonstrations; inspire science students; bring humor and creativity to science education; share their love of science with students; and share resources with their colleagues.

“I don’t think it’s an award for me as much as it is for our science department and for our school,” Hagen said.


Mountain biking will become a bigger presence in the curriculum at Mount Boucherie High School.

The school board has approved the creation of a mountain bike academy at the school, which will offer mountain bike electives 10, 11 and 12.

The courses evolved from several students’ expressions of interest for an alternative to other physical education programs, designed to introduce students to the sport of mountain biking and develop their personal fitness, technical and tactical skills. , their teamwork and communication, and their understanding of their role in the natural environment.

The new curriculum was strongly endorsed at a parent meeting hosted by the MBSS Parent Advisory Council on November 22, 2021. The new courses will be open for student enrollment in the 2022-23 school year.


Okanagan-Mission Secondary has developed its own outdoor education alternative – a Grade 12 Parks and Recreation class.

The course was developed in response to the question: what can I learn about myself by learning about others and my environment.

Finding the answer to this question is the genesis of the Parks and Recreation 12 course, where students will participate in small groups working with a mentor teacher and community member to plan, prepare for, and participate in leadership and leadership exercises. backcountry team building.

The course offering was presented at a meeting of the OKM Parent Advisory Council on April 12 and received broad support from the parents present. It will be offered to students in the 2022-23 school year.

It will also be the starting point for the establishment of the Parks and Recreation Academy at OKM.


The district student council co-chairs for the 2022-23 school year will be Zach Johnson, a student from Kelowna High School, and Mehak Parihar, from Rutland Senior Secondary.


Scott Sieben will be president of the Central Okanagan Principals and Vice-Principals Association for the years 2022-2023.

Sieben is the principal of Mount Boucherie High School.

Vice President Jared Birkeland joins him on executive; former interim president Derek Lea; Treasurer Bryce Owens, Secretary Jeremy Sanbrooks; elementary liaison Jennifer Adamson and Tim Vandbrummelen, middle liaison Jesse Bruce and secondary liaison Darryl Smith and Christey Hughes.


Central Okanagan administrators bid farewell to administrative support worker Michelle DesRochers, who is moving on to another career opportunity.

Board chair Moyra Baxter said DesRochers, the executive assistant to the secretary-treasurer and school board, who worked closely with trustees and was a technical support element at school board meetings, will be missed. for his assistance to the administrators.

“She went about her job by dealing with all of our various needs and opinions with us with great grace and patience,” Baxter said.

“We wish him good luck in his new venture.”


The iGen Finals was recently held at the Innovation Center, as more than 110 high school teams, over 270 students in total, competed for the iGen Business Ideas Challenge with $5,000 in prizes. cash.

These were eight finalists per team in front of a panel of five judges. First place and the cash prize of $2,500 went to Gurdit Sidhubar of Rutland Senior Secondary for his ‘Twisted Cereal’ project.

In second ($1,500) was Noah Garcia, Okanagan Mission Secondary, for Ominplex; and third ($1,000) was Skylar Banman, Rutland Senior Secondary, for Steavia Teas.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.



Comments are closed.